Bed and Breakfast
Rocks and Roses Bed and Breakfast

Rocks and Roses Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Shelly, Durban, South Africa - April 2017

Colette's b&b was the perfect stop-over en route our journey - great for anyone going between KwaZulu-Natal and Mpumalanga or Kruger Park. The room was lovely and had everything we needed; breakfast was tasty; the farm scenery was beautiful and relaxing and Colette was a welcoming hostess. It's far from any towns so stock up in advance or ask to eat dinner there.

bnbbnbbnb

Ryan, Johannesburg, South Africa - January 2017

Really great stay in a truly fantastic place! Can definitely recommend for anyone passing through or just trying to escape the rat race! Will definitely stay again!

bnbbnbbnb

Richard - July 2016

“Superb Hospitality”. Comfortable accommodation, great food and superb hospitality - Colette is a lovely host. I would highly recommend Rocks and Roses to anyone visiting this part of the world. The beautiful night sky and the tranquil surrounds are especially welcome after a long journey. Stayed July 2016, travelled on business./p>

bnbbnbbnb

Lisa Dorer, Pretoria, South Africa - June 2016

We really can recommend the rocks and roses! We didn’t sleep there anyway Colette was so friendly. We could park our car at her place and she drove us late in the evening to our hostel in Swaziland. She told us a lot about her host experiences. She is just lovely. On Sunday we picked up our car and met her husband. He is also totally nice. We really want to come back for a weekend to enjoy your place. (The house and rooms already the way to the place was made with a lot of love.) We wish you all the best and thanks again for all the help we got. Theresa, Cara & Lisa

bnbbnbbnb

Warren, Netherlands - May 2016

If you are looking for a quiet place with a great host and hostess , then this is a perfect spot for you. We booked 2 rooms (orginally 1 and were accomodated by Collette on last minute for another) which were had all the facilitis we could need, including complementary rusks. Nothing beats a hot cup of coffee with rusks looking over the landscape first thing in the morning. Hospitatlity, off the beaten track, value for money.

bnbbnbbnb

Casper Schack, Copenhagen, Denmark - March 2016

Even though we arrived late, the welcome by Colette and her dogs was warm and friendly. The room is nice, with a personal touch and the lounge is open and inviting. The farm is in peaceful surroundings, with beautiful nature. The place is a perfect stopover when going to/from the south coast or Kruger. Breakfast is nice and mostly produced on the farm and we would recommend everyone to have dinner with Gerhard and Colette. We really enjoyed everything about the stay.

bnbbnbbnb

Kerry, Tannum Sands, Australia - March 2016

Roses and Rocks was great. The garden full of roses and the drive in a bit rocky. Colette and Gerard were wonderful hosts even turning the generator on so we could do some washing. Nothing was too much trouble. We had wondetful evening meals and fabulous breakfasts. We met the lambs and calves and the highlight was delivering the milk to the locals and going fishing in the local dam. It was beautifully quiet and we will definitely keep in touch and stay there again if we get the opportunity. Thank you both for a truly unique look at life in South Africa.

bnbbnbbnb

Aldo, Liechtenstein - February 2016

It's a wonderful property peaceful and the perfect rest between Jo'burg and Swaziland or Krüger! Colette made us feel very welcome and the little dogs are so much fun. We will for sure stay there again when in the area travelling. The dinner was delicious and a real country treat.

bnbbnbbnb

Tanja, Herrenberg, Germany - November 2015

We really enjoyed our farm stay at "Bonnie Braes"! Colette and Gerhard are such welcoming hosts - very friendly, convivial and open-minded. It was great, having dinner together (the pumpkin tart was delicious - thanks for the recipe!) since we really enjoyed talking to you and sharing our thoughts. Thanks a lot for your great hospitality - it was lovely meeting you.

bnbbnbbnb

Christine, Bern, Switzerland - October 2015

Great place! We just stayed one night, but were so happy. Colette is a great host, everything was tidy and clean. The food was so yummy and real homemade. Collette's husband Gerard took us on a drive to the village and the farm which was great. Thanks for your great hospitality and good conversations!

bnbbnbbnb

Eran, Israel - September 2015

Magical stay! The room was clean and comfortable. The view from Colette's home is simply beautiful. It was so peaceful waking up into the country side farm with the sheep, dogs, morning dew and a wonderful breakfast. Colette was such a sweetheart and made it hard for us to tear ourselves away from this little country side eden to get back on the road and continue our travels. Highly recommended!!

bnbbnbbnb

Mercia, Johannesburg, South Africa - 22 February 2015

If you would like to experience authentic South African home cooking in an environment of total peace and quiet, with the stars brighter than anywhere else, this is the place to go. Beautiful views on the farm; comfortable bed; great hospitality; total quiet. Well worth visiting!

bnbbnbbnb

Miriam, Frankfurt, Germany - January 2015

Lovely rooms and an adorable host! Colette succeeded in making us feel at home with her!

bnbbnbbnb

Jabulani Msimanga, South Africa - 8 December 2014

The most outstanding asset is the human factor. The couple, Collet and her husband are friendly and warm to their guests. They get out of their way inquiring if the guests are comfortable and prepared to make adjustments that suit the guests.

bnbbnbbnb

Heather & Peter , United Kingdom - 29 November 2014

We needed somewhere to stay to break up our journey between Swaziland and Sabi Sands, and rock and roses is perfectly located for this. The experience began badly...the weather was atrocious (rain and mist for 2 days solid thus not being able to see even the car in front of us on the road) so we were quite stressed and looking forward to arriving and resting after the journey. Yet when we arrived in Lochiel we couldn't find any signs for 'rocks and roses B&B' and ended up having to do 3 point turns very dangerously on the road (not being able to see if there was any oncoming traffic) to drive back and forth searching for a clue. Eventually we found a sign for 'Bonnie Braes B&B' and decided to either go and ask for directions, or just stay there instead. It was down a long dirt track, not great in a normal car but eventually we found it, a small farm all dark and deserted in the mist. It turned out to be rock and roses after all, so it would have been more helpful had the sign said 'rock and roses' as well as 'bonnie braes'.

They seemed surprised to see us and it turned out Colette got her dates mixed up and thought we weren't coming until tomorrow, but considering that, in a remarkable short space of time she had cooked up a storm in the kitchen and presented us with a delicious dinner that brought us back to life and cheered us up no end. Loved the pumpkin pie and the honey chicken! They don't have electricity there, lights are battery operated strip lamps, and there was a torch in the bathroom which was all quite odd, and due to the weather it was absolutely freezing but luckily there was a portable gas fire in the bedroom, and a roaring open fire in the living room so we did eventually warm up.

Whilst the accommodation and location were kinda quirky, we cannot fault the warm hospitality of Colette and Gerhard, the way they looked after us and made us feel so welcome in their home. I don't think they see many people living where they do, and it was a delight to have a chat after dinner, hearing some of their tales and lots of advice for our onward trip. Very genuine, lovely people. Rock and Roses isn't a destination in itself, but great for a stop-over whilst breaking up a journey, or if you are working in the area. And you really can't go wrong with the hosts - they are what makes the place! Thank you both for turning a miserable day into something much better! Heather & Peter

bnbbnbbnb

Pierre, South Africa - 17 October 2014

Gerhard and Collette did everything possible making us comfortable. That is saving one of our cyclists caught in rain 30km out and back, making us a wonderfull farm bbq, making us full farm breakfast at 5 in the morning. This is 2 most wonderfull, kind and gentle people...

bnbbnbbnb

Tripadvisor reviewer: "Streetmanontour", Germany - 14 September 2014

We stopped at Rocks&Roses on our way to Swaziland (only 30mins away). Even though we arrived later than we said we would be, Colette served us great hot local food with a nice wine and showed us our rooms. Very nice - they make you immediately feel comfortable. After our dinner we had a very funny evening with Colette and her sister in the living room. If you want to have a unique experience in a great surrounding, definitely consider Rocks&Roses!

bnbbnbbnb

Petrus, Cape Town, South Africa - 1 September 2014

This is a great place to rest and just unwind from the hustle and bustle of city life. This is one of my favorite places to go to when I need a break from the world and the rush around me. I will recommend Rocks and Roses B&B to anyone who need some rest for their soul.

bnbbnbbnb

Tripadvisor reviewer: "liquidgiraffe", Botswana - 16 July 2014

I needed a half way stop between the very north (near Musina) and the south (Durban) so selected this guest house. I did not know what to expect and in fact it was a great find: very warm welcome, delicious dinner with a roaring fire in the lounge and a good breakfast to get me on the road early the next day. Granted, the dwelling is a simple clinker brick house, the facilities simple and there is no power (solar, battery back up and generator back up). Water is from a well (you will not find a softer water anywhere). Yet the quiet is just what a traveler needs on the road for a restful sleep. The beds are adequate and the rooms tastefully yet simply furnished. But the kindness from the owner and his daughter (the wife was away) and the hospitality truly make this little place very special.

bnbbnbbnb

Anja N, South Africa - 24 June 2014

This small B&B located on a farm offers next to lovely rooms and excellent breakfast, charming owners! We really enjoyed our stay here! Colette and Gerhard are so friendly! Gerhard even took us with him on a trip to the homelands to sell milk! Our highlight so far!
This B&B only uses solar energy and heats all the water with fire! Amazing

bnbbnbbnb

Jenny Demke, South Africa - 18 May 2014

Thank you Colette and Gerhard for a lovely stay. Loved the working farm environment as well as Jack and Jess. Very different to the usual B&B experience.

bnbbnbbnb

Alta Pretorius, South Africa - 27 March 2014

What an amazing experience. Our host and hostess, Colette and Gerhard, are beautiful people. We enjoyed it very much. We will definitely be going back soon.

bnbbnbbnb

Linda Bremner, South Africa - 8 January 2014

Rocks and Roses was a lovely sight after a long days drive. The home cooked dinner from the farm produce was delicious as was the breakfast. Colette made us feel right at home. We loved it.

bnbbnbbnb

Mpumi Bulunga, South Africa - 28 December 2013

Thanks very much for the excellent service you have provided us. One day was unfortunately not enough to fully explore the farm and the surrounding villages. We will definitely come back possibly with friends, surely you won't disappoint. It was very easy to reach the place -navigation.

bnbbnbbnb

Illona Schlemmer, South Africa - 4 November 2013

We had a lovely time there as it is a beautiful place with beautiful views and Collette and Gerhard were very friendly and hospitable. Thank you so much.

bnbbnbbnb

F.W. Koch, South Africa - 5 October 2013

On Friday 4th of October 2013 I found myself in a very unfortunate situation. I left Johannesburg to attend a cycle race in Swaziland, when approaching the border I realized my passport is still back in Johannesburg.

Given I arrived at 8:30pm at the Oshoek border and I had my friend with me, there was no way I am driving back to Johannesburg. In respect to my friend I helped him to get through the border to go attend the race and pick him up the next day again. This would not have been possible without the awesome race organisers. After all, it would not be fair towards him to come short from my mistake.

While waiting for my friend’s lift I needed to find a place to spend the night. We spotted Rocks and Roses B&B sign at the border. I took a chance following the voicemail to wake up the owners and ask for a room or bed for the night. What I got was a very pleasant surprise.

It was pitch dark and could not see anything around me when approaching the house. I was welcomes with open arms and given a beautiful room to stay in. The next morning I got up, took a much needed shower and when I opened the door of my room to go outside, I was surprised by the most beautiful surroundings of the farm. I could not help, but freeze where I was to take in everything.

Cows walking in the felt eating grass, sheep eating their food given by farmworkers, crops being watered by a tractor pumping the water from the self-build dam in the steam below the farm house, farm workings doing there share on the farm and no electricity! Real good old farm style living. Don’t forget the two lovely dogs, Jack Russell’s. My thoughts was “this is the way to live”.

Greeted by Collette, the lady of the farm and Guest house host, she invited me for coffee in the main house. We had a good chat, and a very interesting chat. A chat I doubt it if I could have had with anyone ells and never will forget. Then I was given a lovely farm style breakfast when her husband Gerhard returned from selling their cow milk.

I went for a long walk on the farm, the dogs followed suite and it was just an awesome relaxing experience.

At the end, as bad as my situation was the previous evening, it ended on a brilliant note. I had time to think, clear the head and had answers on personal decisions I had to make. I could not have ended up on a better place, in better hands. Nowhere ells would I have had the quality time that I had at Rocks and Roses…. I will definitely go back, as I have found my Sanctuary away from everything..…

Thank you Collette and Gerhard for a very special night and day on your farm. You guys are very lovely, loving full and heart-warming people.

bnbbnbbnb

Nacho Villoslada, Spain - 28 August 2013

We stayed here one night passing through, on our way to Swaziland. Although we arrived quite late at night, the owner, Colette, waited. The room was tastefully decorated. The breakfast the next day, was amazing, very full and rich. Without doubt the best place we could choose.

bnbbnbbnb

George Andrews, South Africa - 04 February 2013

Beautiful farm and fantastic hosts. The farm setting has to be seen to be truly appreciated, crisp country air, forests and waterfalls, and a sky bursting with stars - we will be back.

bnbbnbbnb

Dolf Steyn - 14 January 2013

Not incidental that R&R is for rocks and roses as well as rest and recreation. A stunning spot and friendly people. Well worth a visit. Don't forget your camera!

bnbbnbbnb

Wynand Rood - 15 October 2012

Colette and Gerhard are wonderful, friendly hosts. We felt right at home and enjoyed the quiet, peaceful surroundings. Rooms are charming, decorated with love and lots of creativity. Loved the hearty breakfast and good company. Will go again and recommend to friends.

bnbbnbbnb

Kathy, Lesotho - 26 November 2011

Bonnie Braes is a lovely place to stop over - comfortable and quiet, nestled in a beautiful valley, and Colette and Gerhard Engelbrecht were very welcoming.

bnbbnbbnb

Maria, Netherlands -12 May 2011

Me and my husband were travelling through Mpungalanga and were actually planning to sleep in the Forever Resort in Badplaas. This turned out to be so bad that we asked for a refunds and drove on.

About 40km from Badplaas close to the community Lociel (Travel from Lochiel to Ermelo on the N4, there is a dirttrack after 4km on your right, B7B well wign-posted!), we arrived (it was already getting dark) at the start of a dirttrack.

At the end of the dirttrack, in a lovely valley with some cows and a dam, was a lovely farm owned by Colette and Gerhard Engelbreght. Although we originally planned to stay only one night, we decided to stay an extra one.

Gerhard took us on a trip to sell milk in Lochiel from the cows he had just milked by hand that same morning. The family also took us on a game drive.

The food was lovely (with milk from their own cows and fruit from the garden) and the family so friendly is was even hard to leave! :-)

So if you need place to stay, drive past Badplaas, and visit Rocks and Roses Bed and Breakfast!

Currently new rooms are even build, with en suite badrooms and private entrance from the garden.

bnbbnbbnb

Gerard Frank en Jolanda, Holland - 5 November 2010

Hello Collete en Gerhard we are back in Holland and we will thank you for the great stay at your b&b. You are very nice people the rooms are perfect also breakfast en dinner. We liked it very much thank you again.

bnbbnbbnb

Annatjie - 14 August 2010

Wat a fantastic place to relax and just be yourself! No nois, no cars, just nature and the soft rumbeling of a water streem passing by... Peace for my soul...

bnbbnbbnb

Gertzen Schlemmer - 28 July 2010

Baie baie dankie vir die lekker bederf. Die rus en ontspanning is net wat ons nodig gehad het. Sien julle gou weer.

bnbbnbbnb

Read more reviews from Tripadvisor

facebook

Visit our Facebook page to see our B&B's photo gallery